can-we-help canuHelp2 donate2


Galway Hospice is governed by a Board of voluntary non-executive Directors.  These Directors do not receive payment of any kind, either in terms of fees or travel expenses, for their work and attendance as Members of the Board.  The Board Members are selected to be representative of the community served by Galway Hospice.   The current membership includes medical, legal, nursing, financial, entrepreneurial and clinical governance expertise, together with community and service user representatives.

The Chairperson of the Board is selected from within the Board membership at each Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Board.  The Chief Executive reports directly to the Chairperson of the Board, and attends all Board meetings.  The Board meets at least eight times a year (apart from the AGM), but additional meeting are regularly convened as appropriate to the matters under consideration.  In addition, there are two sub-committees of the Board - the Governance & Audit Committee (which meets at least twice a year) and the Quality & Patient Safety Committee (which meets with the Executive Team at least four times a year). The current Board members are as follows:

Keith Finnegan - Chairman

John Sweeney - Chairman Quality and Patient Safety Committee

Dr Richard Joyce

Dr Margaret Murray

Gerard O'Donnell

Ann Flanagan

Bobbie MacDonnachadha

James Murphy

Joanne Hynes

Ivan Moran

Joe Connolly

Jean Kelly